DWI Accidents

DWI Accidents

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a punishable offense in Texas. According to TXDoT, someone is hurt or killed in Texas every 20 minutes in an auto accident involving alcohol. You may be arrested and charged with DWI if you are found driving  while your Blood Alcohol Level level is 0.08 or more. You may also be charged with Driving under the Influence (DUI) if you are caught driving under the influence of drugs or even prescription medication. It is also illegal to carry an open alcohol container in a vehicle.

If convicted, the penalties for DWI in Texas are:

  • First time offense: The penalties for first time offences are a fine of up to $2,000, 3 to 180 days’ imprisonment, suspension of your driver’s license for up to a year and an annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to retain your license.
  • Second time offense: The penalties for second time offences are a fine of up to $4,000, 1 month to 1 year imprisonment, suspension of your driver’s license for up to 2 years, and an annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain your license.
  • Third time offence: The penalties for third time offences are a fine of $10,000, 2 to 10 years’ imprisonment, suspension of your driver’s license for up to 2 years, and an annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain your license.

When you are stopped by an officer, you may be asked to show your driver’s license, vehicle registration and proof of insurance. You may also be asked to take blood and breath tests.  Don’t forget Austin’s mandatory blood draw weekends!  Bottom Line:  Its much easier and cheaper to call a cab or have a designated driver.   Please Don’t Drink and Drive!

If you are injured in a DWI accident or believe you are a victim of a drunk driver, call Funk & Associates today. We are an Austin law firm dealing in injuries caused by DWI Accidents.