Traffic Laws in Austin, Texas
When driving in a new area, it is important to know the traffic laws in Austin, Texas to ensure you are obeying the law. Traffic laws in Texas and the penalties for violating the laws are mostly the same as the rest of the U.S. However, there are some new laws in Texas that came into effect on September 1, 2013 that you should be aware of:
- Move Over for Vehicles: The 2003 law has been expanded to include TXDOT vehicles. This law requires that you provide a one-lane buffer between your car and law enforcement vehicles which are on the side of the road, or slowing down to 20 mph below the posted speed limit. You may be required to pay a fine of up to $2,000 if you violate this law.
- No cell phones in school zones: The law forbids you to talk on your cell phone when driving through a school zone (that law was enacted in 2009). But now it has been expanded to include school parking lots and drop off lanes, unless you are stopped and on a hands free device. Violators can face a fine of up to $200.
- Passing school buses: Punishment has increased if you pass a school bus when its flashing lights and stop signs are active. Violating this rule may result in a penalty ranging from $500 – $1,250, for first offenders.
- License plates at both ends: You must display license plates on both the front and the back of your vehicle. Failure to do so may result in a misdemeanor offense, which carries a fine of up to $200.
If you are injured in a car accident or trucking wreck in Texas through no fault of your own, contact Funk & Associates to find out how you can seek compensation for your injuries. Here is a link to some FAQ if you were involved in a car accident in Austin, Texas. FAQ We are a reputable Austin law firm with many years of experience in traffic laws. Thank you for your time.